Kollaps was the first official LP by Einstürzende Neubauten, released in 1981 on German label ZickZack as #ZZ 65. The songs are a mixture of rough punk tunes and industrial noises. The industrial noises were obtained from self-made music machines, electronics, and found objects such as metal plates. The album was reissued in 2002 with Stahldubversions, originally released in 1982. Blixa Bargeld, N.U. Unruh, and F.M. Einheit appear on the album.

Jet’M is a cover of the Serge Gainsbourg song Je t’aime… moi non plus. The title is a pun, as when „Jet’M“ is read out loud, it sounds like „Je t’aime“ in French.

The track 15 of many CD versions of the album is a live version of Negativ Nein, recorded on 26 June 1987 at the Tempodrom in Berlin.

Trouser Press described the album as „one of the most shocking visions ever committed to vinyl.“ The album is included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.